Skip to content

Safaris Are Not Only In Africa Anymore. New Features In iOS7

Posted in Apple Inc, and iOS

What an adventure the World Wide Web can be. Getting around, and exploring, can be quite an experience. Apple has made some changes in Safari, their web browser, in iOS7, to make it easier to visit websites, find just what you’re looking for, and share your findings and favorites with your family and friends. Please stay in your seats, pay close attention, and let’s find out what’s changed, and what’s new, in Safari.

When you first open Safari, you’ll notice that the interface is slightly different. From the top left you’ll find the following:

  1. Reader button, if reader is available for the website page you are currently on.
  2. Address button, to type in a URL, or perform a search
  3. Reload button, to refresh the page
  4. the body of the website page

There is no longer a Google search field. The address field is now used for this purpose as well. It is called a smart search field. Type in either the web URL, or whatever you are looking for on the Internet. When you fill in what it is you are looking for, as you type, possibilities will fill in after the edit field. These include top sites, google search results, and suggested sites. In settings/safari/smart search field, both search suggestions and preload top hit are toggle on by default, but can be double tapped to turn either one off.

At the bottom of the screen, in the dock, the back, forward, bookmarks, and pages buttons are the same. The only two changes here are:

  1. The utilities button is now labelled share, with all of the same choices inside as previously.

The order has changed slightly, though. The selections are, in order of appearance when you right flick:

  • Message
  • Mail
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Bookmark
  • Add to reading list
  • Add to home screen
  • Copy
  • Print
  • Cancel

The Pages button no longer lists the number of pages, or tabs, open.

When you double tap the share button, then the bookmarks button, you’ll be focused on the cancel button. Everything in this area is the same except that you must choose the folder into which you want the bookmark to go. Right flick to location, and you’ll find favorites as the default. Double tap, and your folder choices include:

  • Favorites
  • News
  • Popular
  • Bookmarks
  • Bookmarks Menu

Listed after these default folders are other folders you created, if any.

When you double tap the bookmarks button in the dock, between the Bookmarks heading and the first of the websites already included as bookmarks, such as the Apple website, are the following:

  1. Done button, takes you back to the web page
  2. Bookmarks button, selected since that is where you are
  3. Reading List button
  4. Social Links button, links shared by your contacts from select social networks will be located in this area.
  5. Favorites, where all of the web URLs are located that you’ve added as favorites
  6. History, you can no longer clear the history for a particular date, just the entire history
  7. Bookmarks menu folder

The edit button is now at the bottom of the screen. Double tap and it turns into a done button, as before. Left flick to the new folder button. A new folder is created as before.

When on the main bookmarks screen, still in edit mode, each selection will have a delete button followed by the folder or website name, a reorder button, and a more info button if it is a website.

The pages button is in the same place at the bottom right of the screen, but it no longer gives the number of open pages. When you double tap it, you’ll be taken into a list of all of the open pages, but you’ll at first be focused on the done button, located at the bottom right corner of the screen.

The number of pages listed is now 25, instead of 8, as previously. These tabs all appear on this first Pages screen, together in one list.

To close one of the pages in the list, or go to one of the websites, do the following:

  1. Place your finger at the top left of the screen.
  2. Right flick, and you’ll come to a button labelled close tab for, followed by the name of the website.
  3. Double tap to close this page if desired.
  4. If you do not want to close that page, continue to right flick.
  5. You will come to a button labelled with the name of a website, which you can double tap to open that website page.
  6. As you right flick, you will alternately come to a button labelled to close page for, followed by the website name, then a button labelled with the website name, which you double tap to go to that website page.

The iCloud tabs button has been eliminated. The websites opened on your other devices appear here, at the end of the website pages opened on the current device, there you will find, if you have multiple devices such as an iPhone and an iPad, first the name of one of your devices, followed by the website pages opened on that device. Double tap on any of these to open the particular web page. As you flick through these tabs, each will be read, followed by VoiceOver letting you know it is an iCloud tab.

At the bottom of the screen, one left flick from the done button, you’ll find the add tab button. Double tap, and you’ll be focused on the address button. Remember that this is also a Google search field. On this screen you will also find the default bookmarks and some default folders, , along with some of the ones you created.

Double tap the address button, and fill in the edit field with the website you’re seeking, or the information you want to find on the internet. The possible answers will appear, as described above.

Private browsing is disabled by default. In several places within Safari, you will find the private browsing button, including the following locations:

  1. Under bookmarks, at the bottom of the screen in every folder, one left flick from whatever button is at the very bottom.
  2. Pages, one left flick from the add tab button at the bottom of the page.

To enable private browsing, do the following:

  1. Double tap the private, or the private browsing button.
  2. You will be asked if you want to close your existing pages before turning on private browsing.
  3. Right flick, and there will be three choices:
    • close all button
    • keep all button
    • cancel button
  4. Make your decision and double tap your preference.

Our safari has come to a close. We certainly hope you have enjoyed the experience, and have learned all of the changes and new things in iOS7. Feel free to visit anytime, to refresh your memory about any aspect of your journey.

To make sure that you don’t miss one of these very informative posts in the future, you might want to subscribe to our Delivering Access blog by email. That way whenever we put up a new blog post you will get an email notification about that post. Signing up is easy, just go to: http://www.fedoraoutlier.com/email and fill out the short form